Connect with us

Show Review

Strong line-up of artists dished out splendid performances for Music Bank in Hong Kong

HONG KONG – Music Bank returns to Hong Kong as part of their 14th world tour station for a second edition, with the last show staged in 2012.

The star-studded line-up which comprised of many top-notch artistes like TWICE, NU’EST W, SEVENTEEN, MONSTA X as well as vocalist Ailee. Park Bo-Gum and Dahyun of TWICE, joined by local TV host Javis Chan, were the emcees for the night.

Hyung-won from MONSTA X transformed into a DJ to introduce the performance teams, accompanied by his bandmate rapper Joo-heon to start the show right followed by the first performance by NU’EST W. Members donned in chic black suits performed a total of four hit tracks, namely, ‘Help Me’, ‘Dejavu’, ‘WHEREYOUAT’ and ‘IfYou’, giving fans a non-stop heart thumping stage.

Vocalist Ailee also performed three of her classics, ‘U&I’, ‘I will go to you like the first snow’ and ‘I Will Show You’ as well as one of her B-sides which set the crowd going wild,  ‘Atmosphere’.

The septet MONSTA X also gave a live rendition of ‘Shoot Out’, ‘Trespass’, ‘Rush’ and ‘DRAMARAMA’ before FTISLAND came on stage with ‘TheNight’, ‘Champagne’ and ‘Pray+Take Me Now’.

When the whole performance just got wild with fangirls, the highly-anticipated girl group TWICE rocked the arena with their recent release ‘Yes or Yes’ and a video of their fanchant demonstrated by their junior labelmates Stray Kids was also screened prior to their stage. Fans were compelled to recite the chant with the tutorial video. Of course, the girls gave us a throwback to the summer vibes with ‘Dance The Night Away’, ‘What Is Love?’ and ‘TT’.

The final performing team was SEVENTEEN where members in dark blue suits dished out powerful choreographies for ‘Oh My!’ and ‘CLAP’ alongside their new song ‘Getting Closer’ and wrapping up with ‘Very Nice’.

When we talk about this edition of Music Bank, we can’t miss the special stages! Momo, Mina, Da-hyun and Chae-young (of TWICE) gave another interpretation to ‘MOVE’ which was originally by TAEMIN(SHINee). They made the night even more spectacular!

Moreover, MONSTA X covered the song ‘Heartbeat’ which was the “song of the town” by 2PM when it was first released in 2009. A part of SEVENTEEN’s members performed a special stage of ‘Na Xie Nian’ which was the original soundtrack for the Chinese movie You Are the Apple of My Eye, while Woozi and S.Coups of SEVENTEEN collaborated with Ailee for ‘Q&A’.

Words: Lam Ka Yan
Photos: Freez Ltd. / Music Bank in Hong Kong 2019

Receive the latest updates and news by joining our Telegram channel here:


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We think you might like…

More in Show Review